Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Yahoo server not working?

Questions about updating prices or transactions in Fund Manager

Postby alpappy » Wed Apr 19, 2023 5:25 pm

HI Yahoo not working for me either Can we get an update or change to another server?
alan
alpappy
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 3:59 am

Postby OT_Family » Wed Apr 19, 2023 5:25 pm

Not new situation but more geographic information for Mark.

My main quote server is FT, working. For about 70 investments and 2 currency exchange rates, I set server to Yahoo - UK & Ireland when testing a new investment and FT did not work. I have never needed more than two price update servers.
Yahoo! struggled Tuesday (failing on all investments where Y U&I was the quote server) but was OK when I re-tried an hour later.
Wednesday evening, just now, all Yahoo! failed again but this time did not succeed on retrying.

My test harness is my portfolio just for the two exchange rate, so I can select it and Retrieve Selected Historical Prices. This is cleanest because this portfolio contains only Yahoo pricing, and the Symbol is the main ticker without needing the Alternate for Historical. I get the blanket Could not update any investments error. If I find one individual investment and try to update that, same error.

I have checked sample symbols to verify they are unchanged, that uk.finance.yahoo.com is up and have just updated to Quote Module: 578. No luck.

Cheers and thanks for continuing to work on this.
OT_Family
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:06 pm
Location: Windsor, UK

Postby alpappy » Wed Apr 19, 2023 5:31 pm

Latest module and its working now Thanks
alpappy
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 3:59 am

Postby Mark » Wed Apr 19, 2023 6:50 pm

Module 578 works for some people, but not everyone. We're working on another update. Please check under "Help / FM on the Web / Check for Updates..." and wait for module 579 to become available there.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11372
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby scottlang21 » Wed Apr 19, 2023 7:01 pm

module 578 sitll not works unfortunately
scottlang21
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:17 pm

Postby Mark » Wed Apr 19, 2023 7:07 pm

If 578 doesn't work, please check back later, and wait for 579. We are still working on it.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11372
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby Mark » Wed Apr 19, 2023 10:08 pm

The quote module has been updated. Version 579 is available by selecting "Help / Fund Manager on the Web / Check for Updates..." from within Fund Manager 2022 or 2020. This update fixes the Yahoo quote server again.

Please let me know if you still have any issues after downloading the update. I apologize for the confusion with update 578 not fixing the issue completely.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11372
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby scottlang21 » Wed Apr 19, 2023 10:15 pm

now, it works well, great! really appreciated!
scottlang21
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:17 pm

Postby MattGMT » Thu Apr 20, 2023 1:19 am

Hi Mark,

Just for info, I'm still having problems today downloading prices. I've updated to quote module 579 and using FM2022.

Anyone else still having problems?

Regards,

Matt
MattGMT
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2021 11:43 am

Postby Klaus » Thu Apr 20, 2023 1:56 am

MattGMT wrote:Hi Mark,

Just for info, I'm still having problems today downloading prices. I've updated to quote module 579 and using FM2022.

Anyone else still having problems?

Regards,

Matt



Same for me. No qoutes with 579
Klaus
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2023 1:54 am

Postby RABcap » Thu Apr 20, 2023 2:28 am

We're on FM 2022 and updated to 579 last night. Pricing on Yahoo now fails to work. Is there anyway for us to rewind the quote module when these issues occur?
RABcap
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2023 2:24 am

Postby paolo_cr » Thu Apr 20, 2023 3:39 am

Hi Mark,
I am using FM Advisor 2022. I also cannot retrieve prices from Yahoo (only historical). I also downloaded the new quote module 579 but it still doesn't work...are you still working on issue? Thank you Paolo
paolo_cr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2023 3:23 am

Postby as_fm » Thu Apr 20, 2023 5:03 am

Hi Mark,

Also in my case FM PRO 2022, quote modelue updated to 579, it is not working for Yahoo.
The Yahoo historical it is working regularly.

Regards
Alessandro
as_fm
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2023 4:57 am

Postby Mark » Thu Apr 20, 2023 7:36 am

Hello,

Yahoo and module 579 appear to be working okay from here. For anyone who is having trouble with the new 579 module and Yahoo, can you please do these 2 things to help us identify the problem:

1) Right mouse click on a single investment, and choose "Retrieve Selected Prices". After it fails, send us the "Detailed" log file from "Help / Logs / Price Retrieve (Detailed)...". Please either email it or post it as an attachment.

2) From a CMD prompt, type both of these commands:

ping finance.yahoo.com
ping query1.finance.yahoo.com

and let us know the 2 IP addresses for each of the above.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11372
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby Mark » Thu Apr 20, 2023 7:41 am

RABcap wrote:We're on FM 2022 and updated to 579 last night. Pricing on Yahoo now fails to work. Is there anyway for us to rewind the quote module when these issues occur?


Please see the post right above this one for some instructions on how you can help us identify the problem. If you'd like to try and revert to the quote module before this, you can download it here. After downloading it, rename it to just inteng14x.dll, and put it in the folder with your FM.exe. You may have to also go into the properties of this file (use File Explorer) and "un-block" it. If this does correct the issue for you, please do let us know.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11372
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

PreviousNext

Return to Prices and Transactions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

FundManagerSoftware.com | Search | Site Map | About Us | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1993-2024 Beiley Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
cron