Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Crypto Curency

Questions about updating prices or transactions in Fund Manager

Postby 4Profits » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:18 am

Mark,
I started Tracking some crypto currency like bitcoin and a few others. The problem I am having is that they use 8 decimal places for their valuations and exchange rates. So when you exchange $500 you get 0.50870913 Bitcoin. also when you go to look up the exchange rate you will get something like 1 bitcoin = $2545.62549706. Is there any way the increase the resolution of the entries in Fundmanager?

Thanks Jim
4Profits
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:02 pm

Postby Mark » Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:10 am

Hi Jim,

Interesting... You cannot currently increase the "displayed" resolution to more than 6 places after the decimal. However, you can enter it to more, and it will be stored internally to more. I realize this isn't ideal when trying to track to 8 places, but it is an option. All the math, like summing shares, and calculating values is done using the internally stored value, which would include the full entered resolution.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby 4Profits » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:03 pm

How do you increase it to 6 places to display. Is that for both shares and currency
4Profits
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:02 pm

Postby Mark » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:17 pm

2 places:

Reports: Options / Report Preferences... / General / Display
Everywhere else: Options / General Preferences... / Display"
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ


Return to Prices and Transactions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

FundManagerSoftware.com | Search | Site Map | About Us | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1993-2017 Beiley Software, Inc. All rights reserved.
cron