Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Auto scale

Questions on using, creating, or understanding data in Fund Manager graphs.

Postby raysk » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:38 pm

I moved to a new computer and since then the auto scale in MA overlay price and distributions flat lines in about half of my investments. I compared my settings in both the new and old computers and the are the same. The problem in most obvious in 3 month time frame.

What am I doing wrong?
raysk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am

Postby Mark » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:41 pm

Hi raysk,

If you reset the scale to autoscale does that fix it? If not, check your date range, as if it is for a very short time period, autoscale might look flat. You can also just type "R" on your keyboard to reset both X and Y autoscale for all investments.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8834
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby raysk » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:45 pm

"R" resets back to earliest transaction and does not correct anything less than two years. Problem is that the graph shows a minimum at "0" . I've tried manually setting scale and that only works till I go on to the next graph. When I go back to the original it again loses scale. This is not happening on every investment though.
I'm stumped.
raysk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am

Postby Mark » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:16 pm

Hi raysk,

I'm not following the issue exactly. If you use "View / Scale..." to set the scale how you want is that working? If not, maybe you can send some screenshots illustrating the problem.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8834
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby raysk » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:24 am

Screenshot (1).png
Screenshot (1).png (95.33 KiB) Viewed 388 times


No matter how many times I set scale it reverts back to this.
raysk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am

Postby Mark » Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:24 am

Hi raysk,

When you autoscale, it includes any displayed markers in setting the scale. Notice you have a marker in that screen shot in the bottom/right corner. It is a sell marker, it looks like around Feb 1, 2019 for a price near 1.4. This is why autoscale is setting the minimum scale down to 1.0. That looks like an errant transaction, which you can edit to correct.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8834
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:24 pm
Location: Chandler, AZ

Postby raysk » Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:24 am

Thanks Mark,that did the trick. I did a manual reconciliation and forgot to put the value in.

All is well now.
raysk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:27 am


Return to Graphs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

FundManagerSoftware.com | Search | Site Map | About Us | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1993-2019 Beiley Software, Inc. All rights reserved.