Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Asset Type and Ivestment Goal.

General questions about using Fund Manager that do not fit into any other forum.

Postby aviator » Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:38 am

I'm a newbie to Fund Manager and I have a question about Asset Type and Investment Goals:

Is there a way to change *all* securities in a portfolio to certain Asset Type (or, better yet, have this information downloaded directly from the Internet)?

Same applies to Investment Goal. I've imported some 1200+ securities and all are labeled as High Risk. Obviously these are way too many to do by hand, and I'm looking for a better way.

Thanks in advance for the help.
aviator

Postby Mark » Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:36 am

Hello aviator,

There is no command that changes all of the investments at once, and this information cannot be retrieved automatically. There are 3 items that may help here though:

1) You can change this information for all investments with the same symbol at once. Use either "Investment Properties... / Asset Type / Apply To All Investments With Matching Symbol" or if you're using the Advisor version using "Edit / Symbol List..." to apply changes to all investments with the same symbol. If all 1200+ of your investments are comprised of a smaller number of symbols this would help. On the other hand if they are a unique set of 1200+ symbols, this won't do much good...

2) If you have the asset type/investment goal information in some electronic format you can import it. See "File / Import / Other / Asset Type or Investment Goal". Press the "Help..." button here for an explanation of the file format. You can also export from FM to see an example of the file format. Basically, it is one line per symbol, with the allocations on the same line. It is a comma separated file (CSV).

3) If you imported using the generic transaction format you can add asset type or investment goal into your importing data. See the ASSET or GOAL import keys in the online help.