Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Anyone using FM with Interactive Brokers for foreign stocks?

General questions about using Fund Manager that do not fit into any other forum.

Postby caffellatte » Sat Dec 05, 2020 11:38 pm

I am new to Fund Manager, trying to get it to work with Interactive Brokers, where I am buying foreign stocks in local currencies.

I understand that IB does not have an OFX server, so I downloaded a QFX file of my year-to-date transactions. (Now you can download a year's transactions at a time. According to an old post, at one time you could only download 31 days at a time!) I discovered that share price and market value of positions had been converted to USD. The entry for cash in my account did not correspond to anything I could make sense of: the first time I imported, it was about $15K, and the second time I imported the same QFX file (after closing the portfolio) it was about −$3K. When I double-clicked on the name of a Singapore stock, FM said the market value was "SGD815.40", although in fact the market value is USD 815.40.

The fun really started when I tried downloading prices. Most of the servers I tried didn't work at all, even when I changed the symbol to the one shown on the service's website. Wall Street Journal was one that failed to download prices. (Are they down on Saturday night?) I finally got Yahoo to work. But then the prices downloaded were in local currency.

Then FM displays a list of positions, showing the value of each in local currency, which means it cannot total the value of the account. WHAT A MESS!

At this point, the only way I think I can get FM to work with my IB account is to only download information from IB. That means that whenever I want to check prices, I must go to the IB site and manually download a QFX file and import it into FM. That way, all values will be in USD.