Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Watch Portfolio

General questions about using Fund Manager that do not fit into any other forum.

Postby gmow » Wed May 01, 2019 7:56 am

I'm hoping to create a zero value Portfolio with the primary intent to monitor a select group of stocks and create alerts. I envision once these alerts are created I'll be able to monitor the graph of these selected stocks.

Currently, I have a master portfolio with an All Accounts Sub Portfolio with individual accounts and investment within
Master\All Accounts\ABC Institution\Investment A

Do I create a sub portfolio under Master or All Accounts?
Can I copy individual investments into the Watch Portfolio? Zero Value?

OR is there a better way to create a graph display with a select group of investments? A selected group of investments spread over multiple portfolios?
gmow

Postby Mark » Wed May 01, 2019 8:41 am

Hi gmow,

Yes, you could just create a watchlist under "Master Portfolio", so that it doesn't affect your "All Accounts" level. Yes, you can copy investments into this new sub-portfolio. An investment can belong in multiple sub-portfolios. If you make an edit in that investment, it is reflected everywhere that investment is located. Use the Portfolio Editor to copy the investment. Drag/drop while holding down Ctrl is an easy way (if you don't hold down Ctrl, it is a move). Drag from the list on the right, and drop onto the desired sub-portfolio on the left. Here is a relevant tutorial:

https://youtu.be/1GUCo0Hua90
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin

Postby Djobydjoba » Wed May 01, 2019 8:57 am

Hello,

Personally, I've chosen such a portfolio structure:

Code: Select all
MASTER
    ACCOUNTS
        Account A
        Account B
        Account C
    MARKETS
        North America
        South America
        Asia
        Europe
        Africa and Middle East
        Commodities
        Sectors
             Energy