Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Master portfolio

General questions about using Fund Manager that do not fit into any other forum.

Postby yakrik » Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:37 pm

I have a Master Portfolio with several sub portfolios. But I would like to make a new master portfolio as a separate entity. The wizard does not seem to allow that in that a new portfolio can only be saved as a sub portfolio. What might I be missing?
yakrik

Postby Mark » Thu Dec 31, 2015 10:36 pm

Hi yakrik,

You can either create a new portfolio file (*.mm4) with a whole separate sub-portfolio hierarchy, or you can create another level in your hierarchy. To create a new *.mm4 portfolio file, just use "File / Save Portfolio As...".

A portfolio file (*.mm4) saves all your sub-portfolios, and which investments belong in each sub-portfolio. You can create as many *.mm4 files as you want, but it usually works best to just have a single portfolio file, and use sub-portfolios and hierarchy.

Within a given portfolio file the sub-portfolio hierarchy has only 1 top-most sub-portfolio. You can create as many layers in that hierarchy as you want though. So, if you have something like this:

Code: Select all
- Master Portfolio
  - Acct 1
  - Acct 2

and you want to create another layer, you could do something like:

- My Top
  - Master Portfolio 1
    - Acct 1
    - Acct 2
  - Master Portfolio 2
    - Acct 3
    - Acct 4

You can rename any sub-portfolio to anything. The name "Master Portfolio" is just the default name for your top-most sub-portfolio, but you can name it whatever you want.
Thanks,
Mark
Fund Manager - Portfolio Management Software
Mark
Site Admin

Postby glb » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:07 am