Fund Manager
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE
Contact Us

Personal vs. Professional versions limits

General questions about using Fund Manager that do not fit into any other forum.

Postby tvalley » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:09 pm

Hello & Merry Christmas Eve to all!

I have searched the forums, and I am still confused as to what the investment and portfolio limits are in the two versions, and which one I should purchase. I am an active swing trader. I seldom have more than 25 or so active positions at any one time. Does this mean that I can easily get away with the personal version? Or is an investment anything that you have bought and sold in the past, in which case I might go through 10-20 "investments" in just a week? And the limits on Portfolios - can I use additional portfolios (i.e. one for each month, quarter, whatever) to help out with the investment limit per portfolio? I'm just very confused here, I don't have a problem laying out the $$ for the professional version if I need it, but I don't want to buy it if it's just gross overkill either.

Also, am I correct in assuming there are no other differences in the two versions other than the database limits?

Thanks in advance for any helpful advice!

Alan Salls
Temecula, CA
alan@tvalley.com
Alan Salls
Temecula, CA
alan@tvalley.com
tvalley

Postby Mark » Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:19 pm

Hi Alan,

There are other differences, besides just the number of investments you can track. See the version comparison table here:

http://www.fundmanagersoftware.com/versions.html

Scroll down to see the "Advanced Trading/Analysis Features" section.